The Oregon Brewers Festival/The Line Ride

by Isaac Rosenthal

I ventured up to Portland last weekend for the Timbers game against Chivas USA (I’ve had a very informal internship for the Rojiblancos and this game offered me an excuse to go to Jeld-Wen Field).  My bus got into Portland about two hours before I was supposed to meat the team at the stadium. While flipping through  Willamette Week I noticed that the Oregon Brewers Festival was in town, had no admission charge (though tasting beer required the purchase of a $6 mug, and each taste cost $1) and was ON THE WAY TO WHERE I NEEDED TO BE.

I had no plans of getting sloshed for work, but I figured I could spend an hour walking around the festival, have a few tastes and hopefully learn a thing or two.  It’s a good thing I didn’t have anything else in mind, because the lines were so long I only ended up getting one taste.  To be fair, this was on a Saturday late afternoon, and is the busiest time at the festival. I didn’t really have the brewfest experience, but next year I’m going back, and I will have more than an hour to do my bidding.